There are far too many car accidents on the roads of Florida. As the leading Car Accident Lawyer West Palm Beach we see the heartache and problems that they can cause on a daily basis. We are here to help, but did you know that there is a time limit on when you must make a claim?
The No-Fault state of Florida
Florida operates what is called a ‘No-Fault system. What this means for you as someone who has been involved in an auto accident is that you must contact your own insurer. They will look at your car and assess the damage as well as any injuries to you. They will then decide the claim that you can make based on their investigations. This occurs no matter which party was at fault for the accident. Only in more severe cases can you file a claim against the other party. If they were at fault then call us as the best Car Accident Lawyer West Palm Beach.
Comparative Fault Rates and what they mean to you
The system in Florida can apportion fault in a car accident on a split basis. So you might be told by a judge that you are 20% to blame for any accident. This means that your claim will be reduced by that 20%. It can be best understood by way of an example.
If you have a claim for $50,000 and are 20% to blame then you will receive a payout of 80% of $50,000 or $40,000.
Your total payout can be affected by the amount that a judge decides you were to blame in a car accident.
What is the Statute of Limitations for a lawsuit for a car accident in Florida?
If you have been involved in an accident in your vehicle in Florida then your insurer is the first port of call to deal with the claim. If you have suffered serious injuries then you can make a claim against the other driver if they were at fault, in your view.
But you only have a certain amount of time to make that claim. This is known as the Statute of Limitations. For auto accident claims in Florida this amount of time is set at 4 years from the date of the accident. The law is outlined in Florida Statutes Title 8, Ch. 95, Sec. 95.11. So you must take action within this period of time to have a valid claim.
Florida car insurance rules can have an impact
Florida drivers must have certain minimum insurances as part of their auto insurance. You should speak to your insurance broker when you renew a policy so that you understand what is needed from your policy. Being underinsured might leave you with a problem if you ever need to claim.
As the leading choice for Car Accident Lawyer West Palm Beach we understand how you feel after a car accident. We are here to help you. Contact us today and we can start the process of a car accident lawsuit before the time runs out.